MLK Spirit Awards


The 2019 North Campus Deans’ MLK Spirit Awards
Ceremony & Reception

Monday, January 21, 2019
4:30 – 6:00 pm
Chesebrough Auditorium

The College of EngineeringStamps School of Art & Design, Taubman College of Architecture & Urban Planning, and the School of Music, Theatre & Dance (SMTD) will be hosting the annual North Campus Deans’ Martin Luther King Spirit Awards Program as part of the University of Michigan’s MLK Symposium to honor and commemorate the life and legacy of the Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

The Martin Luther King Spirit Awards are given to students, student organizations, staff, and faculty members at the University of Michigan North Campus who exemplify the leadership and vision of Dr. King through their commitment to social justice, diversity, and inclusion. 

  2019 Martin Luther King Spirit Award Recipients

2019 Student Award

2019 Student Organization Award

2019 Faculty Award

2019 Staff Award

Special Award Recipient : Joseph Trumpey Penny W. Stamps School of Art & Design
Design and School for Environment and Sustainability


Pictures from the 2019 MLK Spirit Awards

2018-2019 MLK Spirit Awards Committee Members 

Brian Banks
School of Art & Design
Freyja Harris
School of Music, Theatre & Dance
Ruth Marsh
Living Arts
Debra Mexicotte

Debby Mitchell
College of Engineering

Rikki Morrow-Spitzer
School of Music, Theatre & Dance
Kathi Reister
Duderstadt Center
Joana Dos Santos
School of Architecture & Urban Planning
William Schultz
Mechanical Engineering
Debbie Taylor